350 S. Northwest Highway, Suite 300, Park Ridge, IL 60068

Call Today for Your FREE Consultation Call Us847-232-7180
Quinn Law Group, LLC

Bar Fights and Assault and Battery Charges in Illinois

Posted on in Assault and Battery

IL injury attorneyWhen the average person gets into an argument with someone, it does not often end in physical blows to one another. When alcohol is involved in these arguments, disagreements can become physical quickly and these damages from a bar fight can be detrimental to your well-being. If an alcohol-fueled brawl takes place at the location where the alcohol was purchased, such as a bar or club, the establishment may be liable for damages that occur there. In addition to charges that you may file against the establishment, you can also file assault and battery charges against the other person who was involved in the fight if injuries from the fight caused you undue hardship.

Illinois Dram Shop Act

The Illinois Dram Shop Act, also known as the Liquor Control Act of 1934, states that businesses that sell alcohol can be held liable for the actions of those that they sell alcohol to. A couple of key pieces of information must be proved in order to hold an establishment liable. You must prove that:

  • The business sold alcohol to the person;
  • The alcohol that the business sold them caused the person to be intoxicated;
  • The person was intoxicated at the time of the fight; and
  • Your injuries were a result of the person’s intoxication.

Though it can be difficult to prove, it is not impossible. Under the act, there is also a legal limit as to the amount of damages you can recover for personal injury, property damage and loss of means of support. As of January 20, 2018, the limits were:

  • Personal injury: $68,777.44;
  • Property damage: $68,777.44; and
  • Loss of support: $82,324.28.

Assault

According to the Illinois Criminal Code of 2012, a person commits assault when he or she engages in conduct that places another person in a situation where they will receive a battery. This crime is classified as a Class C misdemeanor and can result in 30 to 120 hours of community service. This also means that a person convicted of assault can face up to 30 days in jail and up to $1,500 in fines.

Battery

A person commits battery when they cause bodily harm to another person or they make physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature to another person. Battery is classified as a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a jail sentence of up to a year and fines of up to $2,500.

Get Help from a Des Plaines Personal Injury Attorney

Most of the time, bar fights can result in small and insignificant injuries, but sometimes these alcohol-infused confrontations can result in serious damages that can leave long-lasting effects. If you have been in any type of bar fight, you reserve the right to press charges against the person who was involved and the establishment who sold that person the alcohol. If you pursue charges in a bar fight injury, you could benefit greatly from the help of an experienced Glenview personal injury lawyer. Contact the Quinn Law Group, LLC to begin discussing compensation for your damages. Call 847-232-7180 to set up a consultation.

 

Sources:

https://illinoiscomptroller.gov/agencies/resource-library/statutorily-required/dram-shop-liability-limits-2005-2018/

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs4.asp?ActID=1876&ChapterID=53&SeqEnd=23000000&SeqStart=21100000

Back to Top